NIMS Award Symposium 2024
"State-of-the-art Characterization to Accelerate Materials Innovation"


NIMS will hold NIMS Award Symposium 2024 as follows.

NIMS Award Symposium is an international symposium to honor the achievements of NIMS Award Winner and to bring together distinguished researchers in the related fields of the award to discuss cutting-edge research and technology.
This year’s NIMS Award was presented to Prof. Yuichi Ikuhara of University of Tokyo and Prof. Franz J. Giessibl of the University of Regensburg for their research in the field of Basic Materials Science. (Related article)

NIMS Award Ceremony and Commemorative Lectures will be held on the first day of the NIMS Award Symposium.
We are looking forward to your participation.


Event Title NIMS Award Symposium 2024
"State-of-the-art Characterization to Accelerate Materials Innovation"

Convention Hall 300, Tsukuba International Congress Center
(2-20-3 Takezono, Tsukuba City)

Date: Hours November 6th (Wed) - 7th (Thur) , 2024
Registration Fee Free of charge, but pre-registration at the website is required.
Symposium Website
NIMS Award Website

Program (Tentative)

【Day 1】 Wednesday, November 6th
 10:00-10:20 Opening Session
 10:20-12:15 NIMS Award Ceremony / Winning-lecture
 13:30-17:00 NIMS Award Session
 17:00-18:00 Poster Session
 18:00-19:30 NIMS Award Reception

【Day 2】Thursday, November 7th
 10:00-12:00 Session 1 (XPS/SOR)
 13:00-15:00 Session 2 (SPM)
 15:00-16:30 Session 3 (TEM)
 16:30-18:30 Poster Session
 18:30     Closing

NIMS Award 2024

NIMS has been giving NIMS Award to the individuals or groups who had made pioneering work in Material Science since 2007. Award candidates are nominated by world-leading scientists and fairly judged by NIMS Award Committee consisting of neutral experts.
This year, NIMS Award 2024 will be presented to (an) individual(s) or a group who has/have conducted pioneering work on State-of-the-art Characterization to Accelerate Materials Innovation in the field of "Basic Materials Science".

【Press Release】NIMS Award 2024 goes to Prof. Yuichi Ikuhara and Prof. Franz J. Giessibl (2024.06.06)


NIMS Award Office (Please change "=" to "@")