NIMS Award 2012

Announcement of NIMS Award Winners 

NIMS will present the NIMS Award to a person who has made distinguished
achievements in research and development in the field of structural
materials in recent years and as well as valuable contribution to NIMS
previously or in the near future.

This year's winners and "research achievements" are:  

Prof. Harry K.D.H. Bhadeshia

Tata Steel Professor of Metallurg, University of Cambridge

 "Understanding phase transformation and precipitation behavior in steel materials
at the basic level and the development of new steel materials based on this insight"

Prof. John William Morris, Jr.

Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of California, Berkeley

 "Theoretically understanding the mechanisms behind strength"

Prof. Subra Suresh
Director, National Science Foundation (NSF)

   "Establishment of multiscale materials science across disciplines at the macro and
   nano scale for the study of structural materials and biomaterials"