Award eng 2021 back to top

NIMS Award to a world-class researcher who did innovative research and accomplished excellent results in Materials Science

Past Award Winners (Affiliation is at the time of the award)

2007 William H. Butler (University of Alabama, USA)
"Theoretical prediction of giant magnetic resistance of Fe/MgO/Fe junctions"
2008 Anthony G. Evans, David R. Clarke and Carlos G. Levi (UCSB, USA)
“Enhancement of the fuel efficiency of advanced aero and power turbines through material innovation "
2009 Kazunori Kataoka (The University of Tokyo)
“Development of functional nanodevices for drug and gene delivery"
2010 J. M. Tarascon (The University of Picardie Jules Verne, France)
"Improvements in the capacity, life, and safety of the lithium-ion battery"
2012 Harry K.D.H. Bhadeshia (University of Cambridge, UK)
“Understanding phase transformation and precipitation behavior in steel materials at the basic level and the development of new steel materials based on this insight"

John William Morris, Jr. (University of California, USA)
“Theoretically understanding the mechanisms behind strength"

Subra Suresh (National Science Foundation, USA)
“Establishment of multiscale materials science across disciplines at the macro and nano scale for the study of structural materials and biomaterials"
2013 Hideo Hosono (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
“Development of new functionalities arising from electrons in oxide-based solids"
2014 Krzysztof Matyjaszewski (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
“Development of atom transfer radical polymerization"

Mitsuo Sawamoto (Kyoto University, Japan)
“Precision polymerization and precision synthesis of functional polymers"
2015 Harald Rose (University of Ulm, Germany)
Maximilian Haider (KIT, CEOS GmbH, Germany)
Knut Wolf Urban (Research Centre Juelich, Germany)
“Theoretical study, development and popularization of the aberration corrector for electron microscopes, and its application to materials science "
2016 Koichi Mizushima (Toshiba Research Consulting Co. Ltd., Japan)
"Discovery of a suitable cathode material for the lithium-ion battery (LiCoO2)"
Akira Yoshino (Asahi Kasei Corp., Japan)
“Development of the lithium-ion secondary battery"
2017 John Ågren (Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
“Development of kinetic simulation packages for computational thermodynamics"

Bo Sundman (Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
“Development of thermodynamic calculation packages for computational thermodynamics "

Kiyohito Ishida (Tohoku University, Japan)
“Alloy design and development of structural materials based on thermodynamics of phase diagrams and microstructure "
2018 Masato Sagawa (Daido Steel Co., Ltd., Japan)
“Invention and practical application of neodymium magnets”

Terunobu Miyazaki (Tohoku University, Japan)
“Development of tunneling magnetoresistance elements capable of generating giant magnetoresistance at room temperature and application thereof to spintronics devices”
2019 Gerbrand Ceder (Professor, University of California Berkeley, USA)
“Pioneering data-driven materials research based on the first-principles calculations”

Pierre Villars (Director and Owner, Material Phases Data System, Switzerland)
“Development of Pauling File, inorganic materials database”
 2020 Hiroshi Julian Goldsmid (The University of New South Wales, Australia)
"Pioneer work on bismuth telluride thermoelectric material and its application for large-capacity optical communication systems using the Peltier cooling phenomenon"

Kunihito Koumoto (Nagoya University, Japan)
"Development of environmental-friendly inorganic thermoelectric materials"
2021 Tsuneya Ando (Tokyo Institute of Technology, University of Tokyo, Japan)
“Fundamental theoretical studies on quantum states of low-dimensional materials"

Allan H. MacDonald (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
Pablo Jarillo-Herrero (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
“Pioneering work of new quantum physics by twistronics"

2022 Teruo Okano(Tokyo Women’s Medical University, Japan)
“Development of cell sheet engineering using temperature-responsive polymers and its application to regenerative medicine"

Kazuhiko Ishihara(Osaka University, Japan)
“Pioneering work in the development of biomimetic polymer biomaterials and their medical applications"

Donald E. Ingber(Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering at Harvard University, USA)
“Proposal of the cellular tensegrity model and the invention of organ-on-a-chip technology"
2023 Prof. Dierk Raabe (Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung GmbH, Germany)
“Pioneering research on the sustainability and microstructure-based design of advanced metallic alloys"