MANA International Symposium 2011 successfully finished

March 4, 2011

The MANA International Symposium 2011 (March 2-4, 2011) was held jointly with the International Center for Young Scientists (ICYS) at the Epochal Tsukuba International Congress Center. The symposium has been held once a year to present research results of MANA to the inside and outside of Japan.

The symposium started with a openig adress by Dr. Sukekatsu Ushioda (NIMS President), greeting addresses by Ms Mami Oyama (Strategic Director for Science and Technology Ministry), Prof. Toshio Kuroki (WPI program Director), and Prof. Gunzi Saito (Program Officer).

Sukekatsu Ushioda

Dr. Sukekatsu Ushioda

Mami Oyama

Ms Mami Oyama

Toshio Kuroki

Prof. Toshio Kuroki

Gunzi Saito

Prof. Gunzi Saito

The symposium continued with a general introduction of MANA by Aono Masakazu, MANA director-General, a Special Lecture by Dr. Heinrich Rohrer, Nobel laureate in Physics (1986) and MANA advisor, and a Keynote Lecture by Prof. Klaus von Klitzing, Nobel laureate in Physics (1985), Max Planck Institute.

Masakazu Aono

Prof. Ei-ichi Negishi, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry 2010, gives a Special Lecture.

Heinich Rohrer

Dr. Heinich Rohrer, Nobel Laureate in Physics 1986, talks at the Special Session.

Klaus von Klitzing

Prof. Klaus von Klitzing


Audience in the venue

Then, presentations of research results from the four research fields Nano-material, Nano-systems, Nano-bio and Nano-green and from the International Center for Young (ICYS) were conducted over three days. In particular, since the mid-term evaluation of the WPI program will follow late this year, four fields coordinators presented the research highlights for four years. The sessions also included 8 invited presentations by distinguished scientists from the world as shown below.

Anthony Cheetham

Prof. Anthony Cheetham, University of Cambridge

 Allan Hoffman

Prof. Allan Hoffman, University of Washington

Nobuo Kimizuka

Prof. Nobuo Kimizuka, Kyushu University

Susumu Kitagawa

Prof. Susumu Kitagawa, Kyoto University

Lars Samuelson

Prof. Lars Samuelson, Lund University

Michael Wasielewski

Prof. Michael Wasielewski, Northwestern University

Fran├žoise Winnik

Prof. Fran├žoise Winnik, University of Montreal

Qikun Xue

Prof. Qikun Xue, Tsinghua University

32 oral presentations, in addition to 10 invited lectures by leading scientists working in nanotechnology around the world, and 117 poster presentations by 32 researchers from MANA Principal Investigators, MANA Scientists, MANA Independent Scientists, ICYS Researchers were conducted. 410 participants in totally from 29 countries made active discussions and the symposium finished successfully.

group photo of the participants at the symposium

The participants at the entrance of Eochal Tsukuba on March 2, 2011.