

Day 1:

NIMS Academic Symposium / NIMS Award 2018 Symposium

Magnetic Materials Innovations October 15(Mon.) 10:00~18:00 Tokyo International Forum [Hall B5]

[Language] Japanese and English (Simultaneous interpretation available)

9:30-10:00	Registration
10:00 - 10:05	Opening Address by President Hashimoto
10:05 - 10:25	Lecture by President Hashimoto "Curiosity driven research and organization mission research at NIMS"
10:25 - 10:40	NIMS Award Ceremony
10:40 - 11:25	NIMS Award Winning Lecture (1) Dr. Masato Sagawa (Adviser, Daido Steel) "Developments of R-Fe-X Permanent Magnets (X=B,C,N)"
11:25 - 12:10	NIMS Award Winning Lecture (2) Prof. Terunobu Miyazaki (Professor Emeritus, Tohoku University) "Development of Spintronics –Focusing on my personal experience–"
12:10-13:30	Poster Session / Lunch time
13:30-14:00	Dr. Kazuhiro Hono (Director of Research Center for Magnetic and Spintronic Materials, NIMS) "Recent advances in permanent magnet research"
14:00-14:30	Prof. Oliver Gutfleisch (Professor, Technical University of Darmstadt) " Towards deciphering the DNA of hysteresis in magnetic materials "
14:30-15:00	Prof. J-G. Zhu (Director, Data Storage Systems Center, Carnegie Mellon University) "Microwave Assisted Magnetic Recording for Next Generation of Hard Disk Drives"
15:00 - 15:30	Dr. Jan-Ulrich Thiele (Seagate Technology) "Heat Assisted Magnetic Recording (HAMR) – next generation hard disk drive technology"
15:30 - 15:45	Dr. Yuya Sakuraba (Magnetic Materials Group Leader, NIMS) "Development of advanced materials for high density magnetic recording"
15:45 - 16:30	Poster Session / Coffee Break
16:30 - 17:00	Dr. Shinji Yuasa (Director Spintronics Research Center, AIST) "Giant tunnel magnetoresistance effect in MgO-based magnetic tunnel junctions and its device applications"
17:00 - 17:30	Dr. Daniel Worledge (Distinguished Research Staff Member, Senior Manager, MRAM & PCM, IBM Almaden Research Center) "Development of spin transfer torque MRAM"
17:30 - 17:45	Dr. Seiji Mitani (Spintronic Materials Group Leader, NIMS) "Materials development for next-generation MRAM"
17:45-18:00	Poster Award Ceremony, Closing