Kickoff Conference: JST-ERATO YAMAUCHI Materials Space-Tectonics Project

~ Towards Game-Changing Science and Engineering for Future~

Organized by the JST-ERATO Yamauchi Materials Space-Tectonics Project

Co-Organized by Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST), National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS), Waseda University, and The University of Queensland (UQ)

Place (Simultaneous Broadcast): Research and Development Building (Building No.121), Waseda University / 1F, AIBN Building, UQ

Online participation: ZOOM (You may know the link after your registration).

Registration Fee: Free

Registration: Please send your information (name, position, affiliation, e-mail address) to the ERATO-

Office (erato-office@list.waseda.jp).

Date: 17 April 2021

Time: 13:00 – 17:30 (Japan Standard Time) / 14:00 – 18:30 (Brisbane Time, Australia)

Language: English

[1] Opening Remarks (20 min) Chair: JST

Time: 13:00 – 13:20 (Japan Standard Time) / 14:00 – 14:20 (Brisbane Time, Australia)

- JST Representative (To be announced)
- Professor Kazuhiro Hono (Vice-President, NIMS)
- Professor Alan E Rowan (Director, Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (AIBN), UQ)
- Professor Hironori Kasahara (Senior Executive Vice President, Waseda University)

[2] Outline of the JST-EARTO Yamauchi Materials Space-Tectonics (20 min) Chair: JST Time: 13:20 – 13:40 (Japan Standard Time) / 14:20 – 14:40 (Brisbane Time, Australia)

Professor Yusuke Yamauchi
 (Professor, UQ / Group Leader, NIMS
 / Visiting Professor, Waseda University)



Break (10 min)

[3] Plenary Lectures (45 min x 2 = 90 min)

Time: 13:50 - 15:20 (Japan Standard Time) / 14:50 - 16:20 (Brisbane Time, Australia)

• Professor Takuzo Aida (The University of Tokyo, Japan)

Chair: Toru Asahi

"Supramolecular Polymerization: Its Significance and Applications"

Professor Thomas E. Mallouk (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
 Chair: Yoshiyuki Sugahara
 "Managing Proton Gradients with Bipolar Membranes in CO₂ Electrolysis,
 Fuel Cells, and Redox Flow Batteries"





[4] Introduction of research group (15 min x 6 = 90 min) Chair: Yoshiyuki Sugahara Time: 15:20 - 16:50 (Japan Standard Time) / 16:20 - 17:50 (Brisbane Time, Australia)

- Nano-Dimensional Control Group (Waseda University): Yusuke Asakura
- Nano-Structural Control Group I (NIMS): Joel Henzie
- Nano-Structural Control Group II (UQ): Md. Shahriar A. Hossain
- Nano-Hybrid Materials Group (NIMS): Jonathan P. Hill
- Nano-Materials Informatics Group (NIMS): Watcharop Chaikittisilp
- Nano-Materials Characterization Group (Waseda University): Tokihiko Yokoshima

[5] One min's self-introduction of the ERATO's core members (30 min) Chair: Toru Asahi Time: 16:50 – 17:20 (Japan Standard Time) / 17:50 – 18:20 (Brisbane Time, Australia)

[6] Closing remarks (10 min) Chairs: Yoshiyuki Sugahara and Toru Asahi

Time: 17:20 – 17:30 (Japan Standard Time) / 18:20 – 18:30 (Brisbane Time, Australia)

- Professor Takayoshi Sasaki
 (Director, International Center for Materials Nanoarchitectonics (WPI-MANA), NIMS)
- Professor Takuro Katsufuji
 (Kagami Memorial Research Institute for Materials Science and Technology (ZAIKEN), Waseda University)

JST-ERATO Yamauchi Materials Space Tectonic Office

- Japan Office (1): WPI-MANA, NIMS, 1-1 Namiki, Tsukuba, Ibaraki 305-0044, Japan / Tel. +81-29-860-4635
- Japan Office (2): ZAIKEN, Waseda University, 2-8-26 Nishiwaseda, Shinjuku, Tokyo 162-0051,
 Japan / Tel. +81-3-5286-3204 / E-mail: erato-office@list.waseda.jp

 Australia Office: AIBN, UQ, Cnr College Rd & Cooper Rd, Brisbane, QLD 4072, Australia / Tel. +61-42-1716720

Links:

A prestigious honour and funding for Japan-Australia research collaboration

 $\underline{https://aibn.uq.edu.au/article/2020/12/prestigious-honour-and-funding-japan\%E2\%80\%93 australia-research-collaboration}$

Powering up an international collaboration with Japan

https://www.arc.gov.au/news-publications/media/feature-articles/powering-international-collaboration-japan

Japan's global connectors

https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-019-00831-5

Australia's Top 40's Researchers - Superstars

https://specialreports.theaustralian.com.au/1540291/9/

Endorsed by

The Australia-Japan Foundation

The Catalyst Society of Japan

The Chemical Society of Japan

The Committee of Battery Technology

The Committee of Capacitor Technology

The Electrochemical Society of Japan

The Foundation for Australia-Japan Studies (FAJS)

The Fuel Cell Development Information Center

The Japanese Sol-Gel Society

The Japan Petroleum Institute

The Japan Society of Applied Physics

The Japan Society of Powder and Powder Metallurgy

The Japan Zeolite Association

The Materials Research Society of Japan

The Society of Polymer Science, Japan