Home > About NIMS > Executive
2024.04.01 Update

Executive at NIMS

(As of April 1st, 2023)


1988 Post Doctoral Research Associate
Dept. Metallurgical Engineering & Materials Science
Carnegie Mellon University
1990 Research Associate
Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University
1995 Senior Researcher
National Research Institute for Metals
1998 Head of 3rd Laboratory, Materials Physics Division
National Research Institute for Metals
2001 2nd Subgroup Leader, Materials Physics Group
National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS)
2002 Director, Metallic Nanostructure Group, NIMS
2004 NIMS Fellow and Director of Metallic Nanostructure Group, NIMS
2006 Director, Magnetic Materials Center, NIMS
2011 Director, Magnetic Materials Unit, NIMS
2016 Director, Research Center for Magnetic and Spintronic Materials, NIMS
2018 Executive Vice President, NIMS
2022 President, NIMS

Executive Vice President


1996 Science and Technology Agency
2006 Secretary to the Senior Vice Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT)
2009 First Secretary for Science and Technology, Permanent Delegation of Japan to the OECD, Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA)
2013 Director for Planning, Office for Evaluation and Support of Research & Development Institution, Science and Technology Policy Bureau, MEXT
2014 Planning Director for Science, Technology and Innovation, Cabinet Office
2015 Director, Office for Space Utilization Promotion, Research and Development Bureau, MEXT
2017 Director, Office for Policy Coordination, Policy Division, Minister’s Secretariat, MEXT
2018 Deputy Managing Director, Department of Research Promotion, Japan Agency for Medical Research and Development (AMED)
2020 Director, Earthquake and Disaster-Reduction Research Division, Research and Development Bureau, MEXT
2022 Director, Department of Strategic Planning and Management, Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST)
2024 Executive Vice President, NIMS
Executive Vice President


1983 Mitsui Engineering & Shipbuilding Co., Ltd.
1997 Visiting Associate Professor, Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology, The University of Tokyo
2001 Professor, Tokyo University of Technology
2005 Chief Researcher, Biomaterials Center, NIMS
2006 Group Leader, Biomaterials Center, NIMS
2011 Station Director, Nanotechnology Innovation Station, NIMS
2016 Deputy Vice President, Research Network and Facility Services Division, NIMS
2020 Executive Vice President, NIMS
Executive Vice President


1982 B.S. Engineering, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology
1984 M.S. Engineering, Tokyo Institute of Technology (Tokyo Tech)
1987 Doctor of Science, Tokyo Tech
Research Student, Tokyo Tech
1987 Research associate, Department of Inorganic Materials Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, Tokyo Tech
1989 Senior Researcher, High Pressure Station, National Institute for Research in Inorganic Materials
2001 Senior Researcher, High Pressure Station, NIMS
2006 Group Leader, High Pressure Group, Advanced Nano Materials Laboratory, NIMS
2016 Group Leader, High Pressure Group, Research Center for Functional Materials, NIMS
2020 Fellow, NIMS
2021 Director, International Center for Materials Nanoarchitectonics, NIMS
2022 Special Assistant to the President, NIMS
2023 Executive Vice President, NIMS


Atsuko Osanai

Senior Vice President

Wataru Okabe

Executive Advisor to the President

Takayoshi Sasaki